Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

Accuracy problems

Boltgun21
Tenderfoot
United States of America

Accuracy problems

Post by Boltgun21 » Sat Jan 06, 2024 7:11 pm

Hello everyone. I am new to this. Forgive if this has been covered and I haven't seen any solutions yet. I have waited 3 years for my big boy steel case colored carbine to arrive. Ordered before covid. Just got it a week ago. Been to the range twice, on my second scope because I thought that would be easy fix. It wasn't. New scope same issue. At 50 yds I get 8 inch groups.
Last outing I did manage to find one load with 240 xtps that held 3inch at 50. I was looking here and noticed others have had rare but similar issues, while others are getting outstanding groups of 1.5 inch at 100.
Slugged my barrel today. Close as I can measure I got .430.

I have tried lead and jacketed. Fast and slow. Lightest I tried was 200gr. Heaviest was a 270 cast. I don't generally complain because I never want to be that guy. I build long range bolt guns for my local gunshop and know my way around a barrel. I cannot figure this one out. I cannot see or feel or measure anything obviously wrong.
Got more stuff loaded to try but am I wasting my time?
1 x

Vaquero
Ranch Boss
United States of America

Re: Accuracy problems

Post by Vaquero » Sat Jan 06, 2024 7:41 pm

What about a bore scope and look down the barrel.
There is a member here that had some issue with one in a 357.
Don't recall exactly, but there was a serious issue. Seems it had tooling marks and such.
Hopefully he will chime in.

RP
0 x
Monte Walsh "You have No idea how little I care". :lol:

Ain't No Apologies for My Temperament :shock:
Si vis pacem, para bellum
H001, H006, H012

Boltgun21
Tenderfoot
United States of America

Post by Boltgun21 » Sat Jan 06, 2024 7:55 pm