Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

Heat Pump

All the chores, repairs, tasks and things around the old place
Sir Henry
Administrator / Owner
United States of America

Heat Pump

Post by Sir Henry » Thu Aug 05, 2021 5:18 pm

The house in Fortine has a heat pump as it’s only continuously powered heat source. It also has a wood burning stove.

I’m concerned about a 16 year old heating system which is barely powerful enough to heat the house. The bottom has heating vents but they are in the ceiling. They don’t heat the downstairs very well but do give you a warmer floor upstairs.

It’s a Lenex HPXB15-30-230-03 and I have no experience with heat pumps.
0 x
Hi, my name is Gene and I'm a Henryholic from Wisconsin.

Range Reporter: Henry Repeater

JEBar
Town Marshal / Deputy Admin
United States of America

Re: Heat Pump

Post by JEBar » Thu Aug 05, 2021 6:56 pm

heat pumps take heat out of the air .... they work well and save money on days when they can pull sufficient heat out of the air .... it is cool heat and for many folks accustomed to other furnaces, its a significant adjustment .... when its too cold, they have heat strips .... the heat strips are expensive to feed .... most manufactures have tables that can show how many days per year the heat strips will have to be used .... from there they can determine if a heat pump is a good choice ....
1 x

GunnyGene
Drover
United States of America

Post by GunnyGene » Thu Aug 05, 2021 7:19 pm

I've had a heat pump here for about 20 years. Most folks here have them, mostly for the summer months when it's hot and humid. Check the insulation in the house, good insulation will save you a lot of money on the electric bill.

https://www.energystar.gov/campaign/sea ... n_r_values
1 x
Bellum Omnium Contra Omnes is rapidly becoming a reality (11/2023). Para Bellum.

GeoBoy
Cowhand
United States of America

Post by GeoBoy » Thu Aug 05, 2021 7:25 pm