Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

First fishing trip with the new boat

Freshwater saltwater Lakes, Ponds, Rivers, Streams talk about the ones that got away. Show us the ones that didn't.
Hatchdog
Ranch Foreman
United States of America

First fishing trip with the new boat

Post by Hatchdog » Fri May 27, 2022 11:27 am

Yesterday we went to a lake about 45 minutes up the road for our first fishing outing. First of all we didn’t catch any fish which was disappointing but not unexpected. Our (my) goal was to learn about the new equipment I have never used before and at that we were successful. This time of the year the water is still cold and the fish (Kokanee) are still pretty shallow. Later in the year as it warms up they will go deeper looking for the cold water they love.

So it’s not necessary to use downriggers right now and in fact none of the other dozen or so boats out there were using them. I chose to use ours as I wanted to learn how to operate them in conjunction with the rod and reel taking into consideration both the depth and the distance behind the boat we wanted the lure to run. I’m sure I was too deep to attract fish and might have been successful just running a 1 oz weight on the line and skipping the downriggers. Talked to one guy who caught seven and watched another boat land two at the same time.

So there we were, a rookie (me) downrigger guy, fishfinder guy and electric trolling motor guy. So I’m juggling all this while trying to rig two rod and reels with dodgers and twin hook spinners. Baiting the hooks with corn and applying a scent gel to the dodgers. Add in a 10 month old puppy who wanted to be involved with everything…well the word rodeo came to mind.

I do feel like I have a much better understanding of the equipment we have and the next trip out will be more of a fishing focus than a learning focus. Here’s the only picture I managed to take as my hands were a bit busy with other tasks. :lol: