Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

Browning BL-22 plinker

Put your range reports for all brands and types of firearms and other items.
North Country Gal
Firearms Advisor
United States of America

Browning BL-22 plinker

Post by North Country Gal » Sun Jan 28, 2024 2:30 pm

I confess to sometimes being a target snob. My shooting tastes and my upbringing in rifles has been heavily concentrated on tiny groups and bolt rifles with match grade triggers and barrels, especially now that I'm in my last years of shooting. Hasn't always been all bolt rifles and shooting for group size and score, though. As a youngster, I did my share of plinking at tin cans and bottles and dirt clods with the other kids.

These days the bulk of my backyard plinking has been with air guns and steel. The air guns make awesome backyard plinkers, but sometimes I get a strong urge to plink with my rimfire rifles, too. Cycling cartridges in a rifle and hearing a pop, even with the lowly CB 22 Short, is still in my blood. Always will be. I kind of cringe using CB Shorts in my match grade bolt rifles or even my expensive Winchester single shots, though. Those really aren't good choices for plinking rifles, anyway.

Oh, we do have a couple of 10/22s and those are some of the all time greats for plinking, of course, except that 10/22s those won't cycle CB Shorts. Long story, short, I've been keeping an eye out for a 22 plinking rifle that can handle CB Shorts, one that is light and handy like a 10/22 and also like a 10/22, a fun rifle for stepping out on the deck for a few shots at 25 yards.

I think I found that 22 plinker this week and brought it home. It's a mint condition Browning BL-22, made in 1969, the first year for the BL-22, made for Browning by Miroku (there never was a Belgium version of the BL-22). It's a Grade I, meaning no checkering or engraving, but I never cared that much for the fancy stuff, anyway. This really is a little jewel of a 22 rifle.