Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

New Henry BB exterior maintenance

Tell us how you do it
SloopJohnB
Wrangler
United States of America

New Henry BB exterior maintenance

Post by SloopJohnB » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:17 pm

Not much written on this topic, including Henry Instruction manual. I am just wondering how much "care" I need to give my new BB (brass receiver) with regard to the brass and also the walnut IF the gun is not exposed to the elements? I don't want to go heavy into polishes, and waxes and oils just for the sake of doing it. I have very little experience with wood furniture on rifles. Do different kinds of wood require different treatment (example birch vs. walnut)?

Henry sells Gun Oil Wipes with the following qualifier:

Gun Oil Wipes clean, lubricate, prevent rust and corrosion. Perfect for wiping guns after use in the field or on the shooting range. Apply to barrel and metal surfaces to leave a thin protective film. Safe for all firearms stocks and grips. Pack contains one dozen 6" x 8" wipes.

Not exactly an endorsement for the walnut, but I guess it wouldn't hurt if I use this product to wipe the whole gun down after internal cleaning? Or should I just use it on the metal and leave the wood alone?
0 x
"Hit hard, hit fast, hit often" -- Adm William "Bull" Halsey

Diesel Boats Forever -- USS Blueback (SS 581)

PT7
Drover
United States of America

Re: New Henry BB exterior maintenance

Post by PT7 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:15 pm

A lot of good questions w/in your post, SloopJohn.