Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

Changing sights to help older eyes

Matureshooter
Tenderfoot
United States of America

Changing sights to help older eyes

Post by Matureshooter » Sat Sep 16, 2017 12:28 pm

Just checking to see if anyone has experience with a Marble's tang sight on a Frontier .22. I'm thinking of making the change since my eyes don't work as well as they used to. It has been years since I've done any shooting at all. I have a lot of experience, shooting large bore matches before being drafted and then in the Army, served in Vietnam as a sniper. Just trying to get back into the fun of shooting. Shot in a few small bore matches while in the Army too.
0 x

Les
Cowboy
South Africa

Re: Changing sights to help older eyes

Post by Les » Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:51 pm

I don't have any experience with Marble's tang sights, but I have fitted Skinner peep sights to my two Henrys and I can now see clearly with iron sights for the first time in 30+ years.

I'm sure the Marble's tang sight will have the same benefit. ;)
1 x

JEBar
Town Marshal / Deputy Admin
United States of America

Post by JEBar » Sat Sep 16, 2017 6:07 pm

thanks for raising this question, I'm looking forward to reading the responses .... I wear trifocals and for the most part, I gave up on open sights and began mounting scopes on my rifles many years ago ...
1 x

Ojaileveraction
Cowboy
United States of America

Post by Ojaileveraction » Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:32 pm

I'm wearing progressive lens glasses now (last month) and my shouting has improved.
I can concentrate more easily on that front sight.
I shoot my lever guns at steel targets were I have a large area (several square moa) on the target that means a successful hit. So I'm able to have a lot of fun using receiver peep sights out to even 500yrds.
There is no way I could use peep sights to shoot paper targets out past 50 yards and have any kind of success.