Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

Wanting to get started

All things reloading here
PMC
Cowhand
United States of America

Wanting to get started

Post by PMC » Sat Nov 12, 2016 4:01 pm

So since political winds have changed I'm thinking of getting into reloading. Figure supplies might be easy to come by. I would want to reload 45-70 and 45 acp.

I know nothing about reloading. Any good online resources that you guys use? Reloading for dummies books or good DVDs or YouTube channels?

Thanks
1 x

Jdl447
Cowhand
United States of America

Re: Wanting to get started

Post by Jdl447 » Sat Nov 12, 2016 4:20 pm

Get a reloading manual or two. Read read read. Powder manufacturers websites also have tons of reliable info.
1 x
When a clown moves into a palace, he doesn't become a king. The palace becomes a circus.

CT_Shooter
Administrator emeritus
United States of America

Post by CT_Shooter » Sat Nov 12, 2016 5:53 pm

I've been reloading for just about two years; nearly as long as I have been shooting. I didn't know anyone who could advise me or act as a mentor, so I started by reading everything I could find online about the equipment needed for my calibers and best practices for the process. I then selected and bought my equipment (Lee Single stage press -- part of their anniversary kit, which included almost everything I needed) and purchased Hornady's 9th edition reloading manual, which is a great resource with lots of instructional advice and understandable explanations of the science of ballistics. I also watched several dozens of YouTube videos (some better than others, but all helpful). Since then I've added three other reloading manuals to my library, including Lee's, Hodgdons, and Lymans.