Link deleted out of caution (CT_Shooter)
Blaze

Yep - the best of the three 'Rio' movies.but good video.


cooperhawk wrote: ↑Tue Dec 17, 2019 6:15 pmHey! Caution! I clicked onto that link and got a ransom war hit. It destroyed all of my bookmarks and file.
Don't know why anyone else didn't have that experience. Luckily I have Cync and everything backed up.

Certainly not your fault, but let me tell everyone what happened. I clicked on the link and got a red screen with the message that my files and pass words had been corrupted, and I should immediately call this number.CT_Shooter wrote: ↑Tue Dec 17, 2019 7:09 pmThanks for the heads up. I can't say why that did not happen to me, though I'm glad it didn't. I did a search of the website and ransomware and found that it has been vulnerable to attacks. I deleted the link.

SO all you did was 'pull the plug' correct?It was too late. I lost all my bookmarks, email addresses, and emails.
'They' in the first part meaning the scammers?they actually went to my server and changed all my passwords on the server as well. I've been on a chat with them this AM

Mistered wrote: ↑Wed Dec 18, 2019 12:10 pmI did not communicate with the scammers at all. I communicated with the server who was able to get me the new passwords the scammersThis however is the confusing part:'They' in the first part meaning the scammers?they actually went to my server and changed all my passwords on the server as well. I've been on a chat with them this AM
'Them' in the 2nd part meaning you chatted with the scammers?
had actually put on the servers system. I'm still working trying to recover my email addresses now. Luckily I have a laptop with most of them
on it. Problem is they changed the network password so I cannot send the files to my desktop. They even changed the password for me to
access Icloud. I still haven't solved that one yet.
Mistered wrote: ↑Wed Dec 18, 2019 12:10 pm... typically UNLESS one responds to the scam and follows their instructions to add programs or fake 'antivirus or 'malware' software the scammers cannot access your files, passwords etc. simply by through a 'Warning' (or 'Phishing') message. Think of a 'Phishing' message as an AD that pops up - but nothing can be ordered unless you continue to the site.It was too late. I lost all my bookmarks, email addresses, and emails.
...
Just wondering when you say you 'communicated with the 'server' - who or what was this exactly? Do you mean your ISP?I communicated with the server who was able to get me the new passwords the scammers
had actually put on the servers system.
Where's a good place to find instructions on setting up your computer and/or router to use specific safe DNS servers, I haven't had any issues but it sounds like if your not set up right it's just luck of the draw that you're safe from scammers.Mags wrote: ↑Wed Dec 18, 2019 8:37 pm.
I'm with Mistered on what he said. Clicking on a fake popup warning message is where the trouble starts. When the fake popup warning appears, don't do anything else and immediately reboot the computer. Clicking on the fake webpage or popup to try and close it will get you infected.
Now as far as how this fake popup happened to some and not others. That's likely caused by a rogue Dynamic Name Service (DNS) server on the internet. DNS is what resolves a url into a internet numerical address. Windows default as well as in your home router is for urls to get resolved randomly from the first responding DNS server on the internet. There are thousands of DNS servers on the internet. If you're unlucky, the rogue DNS server responds first and sends you to fake webpages or puts up fake popups. The rest of us never see the fake stuff because we got lucky by getting served from a legit DNS server. Both Windows and your router can be configured to use a specific DNS server. For example Google has several. That is what I have configured.Mistered wrote: ↑Wed Dec 18, 2019 12:10 pm... typically UNLESS one responds to the scam and follows their instructions to add programs or fake 'antivirus or 'malware' software the scammers cannot access your files, passwords etc. simply by through a 'Warning' (or 'Phishing') message. Think of a 'Phishing' message as an AD that pops up - but nothing can be ordered unless you continue to the site.It was too late. I lost all my bookmarks, email addresses, and emails.
...
One of Chrome OS’ biggest benefits is its inherent security features. It’s regarded as one of the most secure consumer-focused operating systems.
dave77 wrote: ↑Thu Dec 19, 2019 2:58 am
Where's a good place to find instructions on setting up your computer and/or router to use specific safe DNS servers, I haven't had any issues but it sounds like if your not set up right it's just luck of the draw that you're safe from scammers.
I'm usually pretty careful about clicking on suspicious looking links but I guess when I'm on a trusted forum I don't really think twice about clicking on links. Maybe that wasn't the issue but if I had noticed that Blaze only had one post I probably wouldn't have clicked on his link.