Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

So, I’m thinking about........

Hatchdog
Ranch Foreman
United States of America

So, I’m thinking about........

Post by Hatchdog » Thu Apr 08, 2021 10:56 am

Putting together a dedicated slug semi-auto shotgun.

I have no experience shooting slugs and I am wondering if anybody here has some input to share. I’m thinking a semi-auto either magazine fed or extended tube and using a red-dot or open sights. I figured I would sight it in at 50 yards and call that good. My thought is if I no longer have access to semi-auto self defense rifles a fast shooting hard hitting shotgun might be a option. In my scenario this would be an outdoor in the country battle, not in the city.

The likelihood of this ever happening my my lifetime is unlikely but what the hell, it’s a good reason to develop a new gun and skill using it. :D

So, any slug shooters out there to offer advice?
2 x

JEBar
Town Marshal / Deputy Admin
United States of America

Re: So, I’m thinking about........

Post by JEBar » Thu Apr 08, 2021 11:13 am

right up front, lets stay away from straying into political commentary and keep this an entertaining and educational discussion of slug guns

the finest slug gun I've ever owned was an Ithaca Model 37 Deer Slayer it was very accurate .... longest one shot deer taken was at 75-80 yards ... with its light weight and pump action it was also the hardest kicking shotgun I've ever fired .... if I wanted a slug gun today, all I'd do is first purchase a slug choke for our Remington 11-87 .... by doing so, a simple choke tube change would open the door for buckshot .... if a rifled tube didn't yield the level of performance I desired, I'd purchase a slug barrel .... extended tube magazines are available
0 x

GunnyGene
Drover
United States of America

Post by GunnyGene » Thu Apr 08, 2021 11:35 am