Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

Forcing Cone

tx gunrunner
Firearms Advisor
United States of America

Forcing Cone

Post by tx gunrunner » Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:34 pm

Here is a pic of a forcing cone after I cut to 11 degrees . It work great for cast bullet and jacket too . It stops most leading in most revolvers and most custom gun makers use the 11 degrees in all there revolvers .

click on pic to enlarge
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
5 x

CT_Shooter
Administrator emeritus
United States of America

Re: Forcing Cone

Post by CT_Shooter » Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:31 pm

TGR,
I have a few questions, being a complete novice who is in total awe of your knowledge and skill.
  • Why 11 degrees?
    How did you cut the forcing cone?
    What is the orientation of the cut?
    How did you determine the precision of the angle?
The entire idea of it is fascinating, but how and why you did it is a complete mystery to me.
Thanks.
4 x
H006M Big Boy Brass .357 - H001 Classic .22LR - Uberti / Taylors & Co. SmokeWagon .357 5.5" - Uberti / Taylors & Co. RanchHand .22LR 5.5"

PT7
Drover
United States of America

Post by PT7 » Sat Apr 16, 2016 8:19 pm

tx gunrunner wrote:Here is a pic of a forcing cone after I cut to 11 degrees . It work great for cast bullet and jacket too . It stops most leading in most revolvers and most custom gun makers use the 11 degrees in all there revolvers .

click on pic to enlarge

I ditto CT's questions, tx gunrunner....especially the whys & wherefores of this "mystery." And I have some Qs also.
  • ~~~If as you said, this "stops most leading in most revolvers," why isn't it a part of revolver production :?: :?: That would make sense to me.
    ~~~Would most professional gunsmiths, other than custom gun makers, know about this process?