Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

First gun! A Golden Boy 22 Carbine, of course!

BillyBoy
Tenderfoot
United States of America

First gun! A Golden Boy 22 Carbine, of course!

Post by BillyBoy » Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:34 pm

1-Henry Golden Boy 22 LR.jpg
Hi all!

Real newbie here, new to the Forum. And I really mean newbie! Just bought my first ever firearm, have not shot for over 50 years, and then it was always my dad's pistols.

I was born in Montana, and grew up in a tiny town on Flathead Lake, at that time part of the Flathead Indian Reservation. I was the only Anglo kid, and always lost when we played Cowboys and Indians. Go figure! Being sheep country, bears, timber wolves and mountain lions were a constant threat, making carrying a large-bore a necessity. After moving to Los Angeles in the early 1950's, my dad and I enjoyed riding and shooting his pistols almost every weekend- he was an expert horseman, and a Master Marksman with his pistols. We had a lot of fun, and that's why I decided to take up the shooting sport after over 50 years.

So Western Heritage is in my DNA, and of course my first gun had to be a "Brass Henry"! I ordered the HRA catalogue, and spent about a month memorizing it, reading reviews and watching videos. My first choice was a 45 ca. Big Boy Carbine, but the 80 cent cost per round to kill a tin can was insane! So I narrowed it to a 22 LR. Because of a left shoulder slow healing injury, weight is an issue, so I finally chose a H004Y, or the Golden Boy Youth model, planning to replace the shorter stock with a Henry 14" LOP Premium stock if necessary. But the light weight, 13" LOP and general ease of use is absolutely perfect for me.