Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

Long Ranger scope mount

ihatechicago
Tenderfoot
United States of America

Long Ranger scope mount

Post by ihatechicago » Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:39 pm

I'm completely new to the world of Henry's. I have ordered a Long Ranger in .243 and am trying to get my ducks in a row so I can mount my existing scope when it arrives. I'm confused with all the research I've done so far on the supplied mounts. One place says they're Skinner mounts and others say it's Weaver/Picatinny. I need to buy new rings and am trying to figure out what to get. Also, my scope is a 40mm. Will I need medium height rings? And one more question. I was advised to get rid of the 2 piece mounts and go with a one piece. True or false? Can anyone steer me in the right direction? I'm very excited to get this thing on the range and then in the field!!!! Thanks in advance.
0 x
Long Ranger .243
Ruger American 22wmr
Ted Williams 22lr
Ithaca 22lr
Ruger LC9S
Ruger LCP2
Ruger SR 22
Savage 17hmr
NAA 22wmr

Mags
Ranch Foreman
United States of America

Re: Long Ranger scope mount

Post by Mags » Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:37 pm

Medium ring height is different between suppliers. Find rings from a supplier that gives specific height measurement.
Ring height is measured from the ring center to the top of the base notch. Ring center is also your scope center.
Ring Height.JPG
So you'll have to do some math to determine your minimum scope ring height.
Minimum Ring Height = 1/2 the diameter of the bell of your scope objective lens -minus- the height of the Skinner mount.
Since the rifle receiver tapers down some to the top of the barrel the scope objective lens won't be touching the barrel, but you might want to add more height for more buffer space.

Also need to consider scope eye piece clearance to the top of the hammer travel.

Looks like Weaver/Picatinny rings would fit the mounts offered by Skinner.
http://www.skinnersights.com/scope_mounts_31.html
500SBE.jpg