Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

First day shooting the H006MR .357 Carbine.

Put your range reports for all brands and types of firearms and other items.
Omegaspeedy
Wrangler
Australia

First day shooting the H006MR .357 Carbine.

Post by Omegaspeedy » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:04 pm

Today was the first day shooting the Carbine and I have to say I was impressed considering the type of firearm it is, that it shoots pistol ammo from a shortish barrel, and has semi-buckhorn sights which I've never used before (Had to Google to work out the correct sight picture and there's very little if no info readily available!!).

It was a cool 14 degree C day with 10-15kts quartering headwind and the sun right behind me. Targets were very bright and almost washed out when viewed with the naked eye. I rested the carbine on a leather rice bag and shouldered the stock.

I started at 25m to get her on paper. When I bought the carbine I only picked up a box of 50 American Eagle 158gr Jacketed soft points (these bad boys have a big flat lead nose and I wouldn't expect them to fly that well out at 75-100m). The first 5 were on an A4 target, 8" low and 2" to the right on average. I was trying to establish a reliable and consistent sight picture with the buckhorn sights, so the group wasn't great. I should also mention my 46year old eyes don't work like they did when I was younger and the trough of the buckhorn was mostly blurry though the bead was clear enough.