Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

New to Henry

Please tell us about yourself and your interests
JimJ
Tenderfoot
United States of America

New to Henry

Post by JimJ » Mon Nov 18, 2019 4:42 pm

Hello Everyone. I'm new to Henry but not new to shooting. As a kid of around 10 years I spent my weekends with my Grandparents who lived in the country and went plinking with the kid next door every Saturday. I was allowed to use any 22 from the gun case: an old Winchester pump, a Rolling Block and my favorite-a single shot Mossberg. As it was a small horse farm they had a trash pile at the end of the property and we would line up all the glass jars and cans for target practice. In my teen age years I occasionally shot the Mossberg single shot and maintained my target shooting pleasure. After graduation and a little college time I was drafted and shipped off to Viet Nam. I had been sent to Helicopter Maintenance School at Ft. Rucker and was lucky enough to be assigned to the 116th Assault Helicopter Co. After a short time I volunteered become a Crew Chief/ Door Gunner. My new rifles were the M14, M16 and M60. On an active day I would probably fire more rounds than I had ever fired in my whole life. Back home in 1968 I rejoined civilian life and stopped target shooting. Got the bug again after retirement and picked up a 10/22 and a few other rifles. Age had not been kind to my fingers and loading mags became painful. Loaders were purchased for most and that helped a lot. The 10/22 had been traded for a Ruger American 22 and it just stayed in storage until recently Ruger introduced a mag loader. As I'm a range shooter and with my past experience I can go through a lot of ammo in an hour. 9mm and 223/556 ammo isn't cheap and so I concentrated on the 22. I needed another 22 target rifle so I began scouring the web for ideas and began to notice several rifles with the mag tube (like the ancient Winchester I'd used as a kid). The range near me has several guns for re