First Henry

Please tell us about yourself and your interests
Gault
Tenderfoot
United States of America

First Henry

Post by Gault » Mon Jan 01, 2024 4:15 pm

Long time shooter, first Henry.

I reloaded and shot center fire pistols and rifles for years, but age and arthritis are taking their toll. I started shooting a bunch of rimfire (CZ, Marlin), but I wanted something with a bit more authority that I could handle. I started researching and decided a decent 357 carbine might be a good solution. I have the dies and molds from my 38 special, which translate directly to loading 357. I got to looking at Henry and decided I would like to get a Big Boy X, but quickly found out they are hard to find. My first clue was looking on Gun Broker and seeing new ones (not many) for hundreds over MSRP and the few used ones seem to go for MSRP prices. Other calibers seem easier to find, but not 357. The first Henry "gold" dealer I tried said "Good luck" when I said I wanted to get one. The second dealer was a bit more polite, but still no more helpful in actually getting one. I tried a third gold dealer, small family LGS, and lo and behold they had one on the shelf and even offered at less than MSRP. I think I got lucky.

I am currently in the Colorado 3 day wait, I get to pick it up Wednesday. I have a Skinner low profile steel pic rail and an Athlon Mida LE red dot inbound for it.

Now I can start to work up some warm 38 special loads and 357 loads. I already have a 150 grain RN and a 158 grain RNFP mold, few hundred pounds of lead, and 2700 primers.
4 x

Vaquero
Ranch Boss
United States of America

Re: First Henry

Post by Vaquero » Mon Jan 01, 2024 4:30 pm

Hello and welcome aboard from central W TN.
357 is a very fun round in a rifle.

RP
0 x
Monte Walsh "You have No idea how little I care". :lol:

Ain't No Apologies for My Temperament :shock:
Si vis pacem, para bellum
H001, H006, H012

5shot
Cowhand
United States of America

Post by 5shot » Mon Jan 01, 2024 5:10 pm