Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

Fitting a new stock

Tell us how you do it
clovishound
Drover
United States of America

Fitting a new stock

Post by clovishound » Thu Dec 19, 2019 1:27 pm

Some of may have seen my post in the lounge about an early Christmas present. For those who haven't, I got an all in one Boyds thumbhole stock for my Weatherby Vanguard I. I've got it mounted now, but the barrel is tight on one side.

For now I will just take it to the range and re sight it in at 25 yds and wait til hunting season is over to do anything else. Probably will be only two trips to the woods until then.

My question is this, should I just relieve the tight spot and call it good, or should I go for a full bedding procedure? I've never done that before.

I'm tempted to relieve it, and then check accuracy. FWIW, the original synthetic stock is not designed to be free floating.
0 x
There is, I think, humor here which does not translate well from English to sanity. - Sanya

JEBar
Town Marshal / Deputy Admin
United States of America

Re: Fitting a new stock

Post by JEBar » Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:27 pm

please don't take a word that I say about this as a recommendation because I have no clue .... I do know what I'd do if it was mine .... I'd test fire it as is .... if its accuracy proved to be OK for my need, I'd go with it for what little is left in the season .... if the accuracy wasn't OK, I'd hunt with a different rifle .... having no skill in this area, after the season I'd find someone who does and let him fix it
0 x

clovishound
Drover
United States of America

Post by clovishound » Fri Dec 20, 2019 1:30 am

That's pretty much what I'm planning on doing. After looking at my work schedule next week, I have to go from two more days hunting to one. And now that one may not materialize. :(
0 x
There is, I think, humor here which does not translate well from English to sanity. - Sanya

TMB
Cowhand
United States of America