Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

Adjusting for Different Bullet Length

All things reloading here
ESquared
Deputy Administrator
United States of America

Adjusting for Different Bullet Length

Post by ESquared » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:18 pm

Total newbie question and maybe a longshot, but is there a general rule of thumb about how much to back out or advance the adjuster on a bullet seating die when going from one length/bullet weight to another?

For example, I'll be moving from the 110 gr Hornady XTPs (357 mag) to 158 gr XTPs and the difference in the length of those two bullets is 0.167". Any idea about how many turns of my adjuster knob on top of my Lee bullet seating die to get close to my desired OAL? I know I'll need to fine tune, but was just looking for a good place to start...

HOpe the question makes sense and thanks in advance!
0 x
BB Steel .357 | SGC 22LR | LR .308 | CCH 30-30 | BB Brass .45 Colt (Carbine) | Single Shot 20 gauge | Single Shot .223 | Single Shot 357

Cofisher
Drover
United States of America

Re: Adjusting for Different Bullet Length

Post by Cofisher » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:42 pm

I ran into different seating depths also. Use the COAL to adjust for depth. I learned to accept a shorter COAL to get a proper seat and crimp. I know this may affect accuracy, but am using it as a learning curve point.
0 x
Remember, it's not how many guns you have. It's how many bullets you have.

Ojaileveraction
Cowboy
United States of America

Post by Ojaileveraction » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:59 pm

What is your desired OAL?
Hodgdon list 110xtp 1.59 and 158xtp at 1.58. So your taking a 100 of an inch difference.
That I think equals about one turn of the die.

Seating depth a factor of overall length.

357 is on the husky side of bullets the difference in length between weights is not as drastic as say .224 bullets.
Last edited by Ojaileveraction on Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
1 x
Pax at Justitia

CT_Shooter
Administrator emeritus