Brass fill, reduced loads

All things reloading here
Dadio63
Tenderfoot
United States of America

Brass fill, reduced loads

Post by Dadio63 » Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:07 pm

Greetings Ladies and Gents,

Here’s a question for those with experience in reloading, to help me with developing a manageable hunting load for my 45-70.

Disclaimer* I am a rookie at reloading, gathering information over the internet (which can be highly suspect at times).

Due to the large discrepancy between bullet manufacturers load recommendations and powder manufacturers recommendation, it is very difficult to determine what might be a manageable load, what might be a safe load, what might be the most accurate (discounting shooter input) load, and what might be a down right dangerous/unworkable load.

Having read articles, blogs, forum posts, manufacturers recommendations, etc..I’m starting to understand the basics of what goes in to properly reloading your own ammo.

Now I read an article which talks about case/brass fill, how an overfilled case (compression load) can exaggerate chamber pressure, and how a case filled to less than “normal” capacity (<60%?) could result in uneven powder ignition/burn, leading to inaccuracy and the potential for a round getting stuck in the barrel (worst case scenario).

The answer was tendered as using a wad/filler in cases that were to be under-loaded, as a means of keeping the powder in a nice tight bundle, ensuring uniform ignition.

Has anyone here used this technique for loading the less than screaming loads that it appears the manufacturers want you to load? If so, what do you recommend for using as the filler?
0 x
USMC ‘84-‘88 (0311, 8152, 1141)
Henry H010B (45-70)

JEBar
Town Marshal / Deputy Admin
United States of America

Re: Brass fill, reduced loads

Post by JEBar » Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:20 pm