Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

Which bullet?

All things reloading here
dmanwarren
Wrangler
United States of America

Which bullet?

Post by dmanwarren » Mon Jan 01, 2018 11:46 pm

Hey all. I'm planning on doing a whitetail doe hunt later this week with my BBS 41 mag and hoping for some opinions on which bullet would be best. I have lots of experience in the bowhunting department with my traditional equipment but not so much with a centerfire. I have taken some does in the past with my pistol with factory JSP but I'd really like to use some loads of my own. Here are the 3 combo's that I have worked up.
1. 210 grain XTP at 1800 fps.
2. 215 grain coated SWC Missouri Bullet Co. at 1750 fps.
3. 225 grain coated RNFP Missouri Bullet Co. at 1680 fps.

I plan on shots being under 75 yards and all these loads are staying inside a 6" circle at 100 yards. For some reason the RNFP prints about 3" higher than the other 2 but I can compensate for that. Anyone with live game experience with these types of bullets I would really appreciate your input. Thanks, Dave
0 x

JEBar
Town Marshal / Deputy Admin
United States of America

Re: Which bullet?

Post by JEBar » Tue Jan 02, 2018 12:32 am

given proper bullet placement, all three are more than capable of taking down a deer .... my personal preference would be for the XTP's because being a jacketed bullet it can be fired at a higher speed that should give it a flatter trajectory .... I do not use XTP bullets but they are designed for hunting and have an excellent reputation for controlled expansion that makes them a solid choice for big game
2 x

Abnermal
Cowhand
United States of America

Post by Abnermal » Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:45 am

Have used the .44 240xtp in a sabot to take several deer with a muzzleloader. Always did very well for me.
0 x
I can remember saying I'd never own a GLOCK,never own an AR15 and never get married. I found out that never is a long,long time!

dmanwarren
Wrangler
United States of America