Spring has sprung. Get out and shoot your Henry

204 Ruger

JEBar
Town Marshal / Deputy Admin
United States of America

204 Ruger

Post by JEBar » Mon Mar 05, 2018 10:39 am

does anyone have any experience with rifle chambered for the 204 Ruger cartridge .. :?: .. I've been following its development, a bit of history from Chuck Hawks ====> http://chuckhawks.com/204_ruger.htm .... this is the only small caliber (varmint caliber) that I've ever found to be even remotely interesting .... I've handled a number of 204 Ruger 77 rifles and so far, I haven't found one that feels right .... most have heavy, bull barrels that, to me, throw it well out of balance .... several companies are now producing rifles chambered in 204 but I seldom seem to run across any in stores
0 x

Mistered
Drover
United States of America

Re: 204 Ruger

Post by Mistered » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:47 pm

I have no experience with the 204 but i fail to see what it's advantage would be over say over a more common .22 centerfire such as the .223. Velocity is not an advantage for me but ease of reloading and bullet choices are - and there are certainly more with a .22.
0 x

North Country Gal
Firearms Advisor
United States of America

Post by North Country Gal » Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:32 pm

I have experience with the 204 in a heavy varmint bolt gun and a 15" Encore pistol. It is a very accurate cartridge, a bit loud, but recoil-wise, hardly any. Amazing flat shooting cartridge. You can zero it for a given distance and forget holdover or hold under for even small varmints over an amazing distance.

Factory ammo is not cheap and not always available in some of our local stores, but not difficult to find, overall. Sold off both of the 204s for that reason. For our fun shooting, the 223 did just as well and is a MUCH cheaper to shoot and never a hassle to find.
0 x

Yornoc3
Cattle Driver
United States of America

Post by Yornoc3 » Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:13 pm